

National Sports Awards 2024

Posted at: 04/01/2025

National Sports Awards 2024: Honoring Excellence in Indian Sports

Context : The **Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports** has announced the recipients of the **National Sports Awards 2024**, which will be presented by the **President of India** at a grand ceremony in **Rashtrapati Bhavan** on **17th January 2025 (Friday) at 11:00 AM**. These awards recognize outstanding contributions by athletes, coaches, and institutions to the growth and excellence of Indian sports.

Key Highlights of the National Sports Awards 2024

- **Purpose**: To honor exceptional achievements, dedication, and sportsmanship across various disciplines.
- Instituted By: Government of India.
- Presented By: President of India annually.
- Categories: Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar.

List of Primary Awards and Recipients

1. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

India's **highest sporting honor** for extraordinary performance over four years.

2024 Recipients:

- Shri Gukesh D (Chess)
- Shri Harmanpreet Singh (Hockey)
- Shri Praveen Kumar (Para-Athletics)
- Ms. Manu Bhaker (Shooting)

2. Arjuna Award

Recognizes consistent excellence in sports.

Outstanding Performance:

- Athletics: Ms. Jyothi Yarraji, Ms. Annu Rani
- Boxing: Ms. Nitu, Ms. Saweety
- Hockey: Ms. Salima Tete, Shri Abhishek, Shri Sanjay, among others
- Para-Athletics: Shri Rakesh Kumar, Ms. Preeti Pal, and 15 more athletes
- Other Disciplines: Para-Badminton, Shooting, Squash, Swimming, Wrestling

nins.on

Lifetime Achievement:

- Shri Sucha Singh (Athletics)
- Shri Murlikant Rajaram Petkar (Para-Swimming)
- 3. Dronacharya Award

Honoring exceptional coaches.

Regular Category:

- Shri Subhash Rana (Para-Shooting)
- Ms. Deepali Deshpande (Shooting)
- Shri Sandeep Sangwan (Hockey)

Lifetime Category:

- Shri S Muralidharan (Badminton)
- Shri Armando Agnelo Colaco (Football)

4. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

Awarded to universities excelling in sports and inter-university tournaments.

Winners:

- 1. Chandigarh University Overall Winner
- 2. Lovely Professional University (Punjab) 1st Runner-Up
- 3. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar 2nd Runner-Up

5. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

Recognizes organizations promoting sports culture.

2024 Recipient:

• Physical Education Foundation of India

Significance of the Awards

- Celebrating Excellence: Recognizing individual and collective achievements in sports.
- Inspiring Generations: Motivating aspiring athletes to pursue their dreams.
- **Fostering Development**: Highlighting the role of organizations and universities in nurturing talent.

Conclusion

The **National Sports Awards 2024** reflect the nation's commitment to fostering a robust sports culture and celebrating its heroes. These awards not only honor excellence but also inspire the youth to strive for greater achievements, strengthening India's global presence in the world of sports.

For athletes, coaches, and institutions, these accolades are a testament to their **dedication**, **hard work**, **and contribution** to Indian sports. They serve as a beacon of encouragement for the next generation of sports enthusiasts to bring glory to the nation.