

SHANGHAI CORPORATION ORGANISATION (SCO)

Posted at: 28/03/2024

Context:

Recently, the fourth edition of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Startup Forum was organized in New Delhi.

Background:

This initiative aimed to broaden startup interactions among the SCO Member States, foster an environment conducive to innovation, promote job creation, and inspire young talent to develop innovative solutions.

About SHANGHAI CORPORATION ORGANISATION (SCO):

- 1. The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is a permanent international intergovernmental organization that was announced in June 2001 in Shanghai, China.
- 2. It was founded by the following countries: Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan.
- 3. The SCO aims to promote cooperation and mutual support in various areas, including trade, investment, energy, transportation, and security.

Key facts about the SCO:

- 1. Headquarters: The SCO's headquarters is located in Beijing, China.
- 2. Creation: It was announced on June 15, 2001, and came into force on September 19, 2003.
- 3. Official Languages: The official languages of the SCO are Chinese and Russian.
- 4. India's Membership: India joined the SCO on June 8-9, 2017, during the SCO Astana Summit.
- 5. Supreme Decision-Making Body: The Heads of State Council (HSC) serves as the supreme decision-making body within the SCO.

Permanent Bodies: The SCO has two permanent bodies:

- 1. SCO Secretariat in Beijing
- 2. Executive Committee of the Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) in Tashkent.
- 3. Member Countries: China, India, Iran (joined in July 2023), Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan,